Fellows 2018/2019

ICAS:MP Fellows in the Academic Year 2018/2019

TM 1:

Dr. Arun Kumar (Junior Fellow): The Politics of Recognition and Beyond: The Uses of History by Labouring Caste Communities in Modern India

Dr. Arua Oko Omaka (Junior Fellow): State Denialism: The Biafra Genocide and the Politics of Memor

Prof. Dr. Tanika Sarkar (Senior Fellow): Practices of Writing Histories of the Local in Bengal : From Colonial to Contemporary Times

TM 2:

Dr. Ranjan Ghosh (Junior Fellow): Defining Moments: Transformation of Contemporary Caste and Class Politics in the Jharia Coalfields

Prof. Dr. Jan Lucassen (Senior Fellow): Wages, Wage Payments and Small Change in India 1300-1875

Prof. Dr. Dorothee Wierling (Senior Fellow): Oral history in a Non-western Culture: The Example of India

TM 4:

Dr. Éva Rozália Hölzle (Junior Fellow): Imaginations of Good and Bad across Generations: The Family as a Site of Moral Transformations

Dr. Arvind Elangovan (Senior Fellow): Minorities and the Indian Constitution: Towards a Dialogue between the Historical and the Normative

TM 5:

Dr. Christa Wichterich (Senior Fellow): Who Cares? Care Extractivism, State & Gendered Subjectivities in India – The Case of Scheme Workers and Nurses

Dr. Elena Valdameri (Junior Fellow): Physical Education and Femininity in India (1900s – 1950s): Global Trends and Local Politics towards Crafting Women Citizens

TM 6:

Dr. Sumit Mishra (Junior Fellow): Diversity Debit Hypothesis