Fellows 2019/2020

ICAS:MP Fellows in the Academic Year 2019/2020

TM 1:

Dr. Razak Khan (Post-doctoral Fellow): Minor Cosmopolitanism: Politics of History, Education and Islam in the life and writings of Syed Abid Husain (1896-1978)

Prof. Dr. Jean-Philippe Dedieu (Senior Fellow): ‘Afro-Asian’: The Indian Uses of an Intellectual and Political Category in Times of African Decolonization, 1947-1962

TM 2:

Dr. Arnaud Kaba (Post-doctoral Fellow): Of glass, skills and life: representations of work and popular urban cultures among Firozabad’s glass workers

Dr. Ravi Shankar Jayaram (Post-doctoral Fellow): Municipal Hindu nationalism: Altered power relations and Hindu nationalist political symbolic forms in Agra’s urban political processes

TM 3:

Dr. Sushmita Pati (Post-doctoral Fellow): Between ‘Ownership’ and ‘Belongingness’: Uneven Terrains of Capital and Community Relationships in Urban Delhi

Prof. Dr. Nandini Sundar (Senior Fellow): Exploring the Politics of Student Activism (1960s-2020s)

TM 3 & TM 6:

Dr. Kanchana Ruwanpura (Senior Fellow): Labour struggles in times of political volatility: Influencing ethical governance in the Sri Lankan Apparel Sector

TM 4:

Dr. Sunkari Satyam (Post-doctoral Fellow): Women’s Entry into the Ayyappa Temple in Sabarimala: Normative Orders, Conflicts and Social Transformation

Prof. Dr. Sunil Ray (Senior Fellow): Cohesive Development as an Alternative Development Paradigm

TM 5:

Dr. Anindita Chatterjee (Post-doctoral Fellow): Uneasy Coexistence: Religion and Patterns of Exclusion of Migrant Female Domestic Workers in Homes and Public Spaces

Prof. Dr. Shirin M. Rai (Senior Fellow): Depletion: the human cost of caring

TM 6:

Dr. Sujoy Dutta (Post-doctoral Fellow): Does Better Information Lead to Lower Corruption? : Evidence from a Field Experiment in Uttar Pradesh, India

Prof. Dr. Amrita Dhillon (Senior Fellow): Inclusive growth: Empowering women in India’s growth trajectory

ICAS:MP fellows and members during the ICAS week in September in the project office (picture: PhotoWala-Preserving Your Precious Moments). From left to right: Prabhu Mohapatra, Sunil Ray, Chitra Joshi, Ravi Shankar Jayaram, Debjani Mazumder, Shail Mayaram, Beatrice Renzi, Laila Abu-Er-Rub, Antje Linkenbach, Sushmita Pati, Martin Fuchs, Sunkari Satyam, Arnaud Kaba, Sujoy Dutta, Vidhu Verma, Jörg Gengnagel and Anindita Chatterjee)
Book Launch: Sunkari Satyam’s (TM4 Fellow) ‘Tribals and Democratic Politics’ with Ashok Pankaj (Director CSD), Shail Mayaram (Director ICAS:MP) and Martin Fuchs (Director ICAS:MP) (picture: PhotoWala-Preserving Your Precious Moments).